Home Sports Local Sports

VOLLEYBALL: Eastern Oregon League releases all-league teams

East Oregonian

Published on November 29, 2017 5:16PM

Several local athletes were recognized by the Eastern Oregon League earlier this month after earning spots on the all-EOL volleyball teams.

Irrigon’s standout freshman Makenna Collins was one of only two players not from the league champion Vale Vikings to make the first team squad, with the other being Rachel Duhn from Burns. Collins and her Knights finished third in the league this season with a successful 21-8 overall record and a 6-4 mark in the EOL. Joining Collins from the Knights were senior Mya Chapman on second team, and sophomore Hailey White and freshman Emma Mueller on honorable mention.

Two Umatilla Vikings earned spots as seniors Nancy Ortiz and Lupe Flores were honorable mentions. And for the Riverside Pirates, sophomore Lily Rockwell and senior Sayra Diaz Ramos were also picked as honorable mentions.

Vale’s Preslee Jensen and Tessa McFetridge earned Co-Player of the Year honors and the Vikings’ Shannon Steele picked up Coach of the Year as well. The Vikings, who went 25-7 overall and a perfect 10-0 mark in league play, had 10 total selections among the three teams including five on first team.

The full teams are listed below.



Players of the Year — Preslee Jensen, Tessa McFetridge, Vale

Coach of the Year — Shannon Steele, Vale


Preslee Jensen, Vale, sr.; Tessa McFetridge, Vale, sr.; Allee Ewing, Vale, sr.; Dallie Johnson, Vale, sr.; Rachel Duhn, Burns, sr.; Makenna Collins, Irrigon, fr.; Sable Kelso, Vale, sr.


Gracee Jacobs, Vale, sr.; Mya Chapman, Irrigon, Sr.; Kendall Hawley, Vale, sr.; Sierra Cleaver, Vale, so.; Bella Woodworth, Burns, sr.; Allie Hueckman, Burns, fr.


Nancy Ortiz, Umatilla, sr.; Lupe Flores, Umatilla, sr.; Nichol Lambie, Nyssa, so.; Lexi Shaffeld, Vale, jr.; Lily Rockwell, Riverside, so.; Demia Hardin, Vale, so.; Hailey White, Irrigon, so.; Britain Hartley, Nyssa, so.; Syriah Trujillo, Nyssa, so.; Emma Mueller, Irrigon, fr.; Sayra Diaz Ramos, Riverside, sr.; Parker Landon, Burns, sr.


Share and Discuss


User Comments