Home Community Your EO News

Local board members receive leadership awards

Published on November 25, 2017 12:01AM

Three school board members from the region were recently recognized by the Oregon School Boards Association’s Leadership Institute.

Jennifer Spurgeon of the Athena-Weston school board received the gold and platinum awards for completing course work through the OSBA program. In addition, Jon Lorence of the Umatilla school board was presented a gold award along with 14 other school board members, and Herb Winters of the Fossil school board was among 30 who received a bronze award.

The awards were presented Nov. 11 at OSBA’s 71st Annual Convention in Portland. They recognize board members for significant levels of achievement in leadership and development. Jim Green, OSBA’s executive director, said the awards recognize local school board members whose volunteer service and dedication help create a better future for Oregon’s children.

OSBA is a member services agency for more than 200 locally elected boards serving school districts, education service districts and community colleges. It also provides services to charter schools and their boards. For more information, contact Alex Pulaski at 503-485-4812, apulaski@osba.org or visit www.osba.org.


Share and Discuss


User Comments