Home Community Your EO News

Former senator receives rural legislator award

Published on January 27, 2018 12:01AM



Former Sen. Ted Ferrioli, R-John Day, received the 2017 Rural Legislator of the Year Award from the Oregon Association of Hospitals and Health Systems’ Small and Rural Hospital Committee.

Ferrioli, who received the award Jan. 3, was recognized for his long-standing commitment to the health of rural communities and his dedication to the hospitals that serve them. Charlie Tveit, OAHHS hospital committee chairman, called Ferrioli “a steadfast friend” to rural hospitals.

“It was only natural to honor his commitment to rural health care and rural health care providers at the end of his legislative service,” Tveit said.

The former Senate District 30 republican officially resigned from office Nov. 22 to begin his appointment by Gov. Kate Brown as a member of the Pacific Northwest Electric Power and Conservation Planning Council. Ferrioli was first elected in 1996.

Sen. Cliff Bentz, R-Ontario, who has served as a state representative since 2008, was recently appointed to fill the remainder of Ferrioli’s term. Joining the Oregon Senate, he was sworn in Jan. 8 by Oregon Supreme Court Chief Justice Tom Balmer.


Share and Discuss


User Comments