SALEM — The Oregon Farm Bureau Memorial Scholarship program has proudly awarded $20,000 to students for the 2019-20 academic year.

The following local students were awarded $1,000 scholarships:

Umatilla County: Gavin Newtson, farm and ranch management, University of Idaho; Juniper Cosner, general agriculture, Oregon State University; Matthew Demianew, forestry, Oregon State University.

Morrow County: Morgan Orem, animal science, Oregon State University.

The Oregon Farm Bureau Foundation for Education, through its Oregon Farm Bureau (OFB) Memorial Scholarship Project, offers scholarships to individuals preparing to continue their education through a junior college, or a four-year college or university, with plans to study in an agricultural-related major. Children and grandchildren of voting members of Oregon Farm Bureau are eligible regardless of their major. Contributions are received throughout the year in support of the OFB Memorial Scholarship Project.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.