New boating permit fees may be hard for Oregon to collect.
The Legislature approved fees of $5 a year on anyone operating a manually propelled craft of 10 feet or longer, and a $5 surcharge on the biennial registration of powerboats.
Nonresidents will pay about $20 for permits.
The new fees are supposed to raise money for efforts to stop invasive water creatures and plants from getting into Oregon.
But even though the fees don't take effect until Jan. 1, officials say it will be difficult to collect them because the Oregon constitution prohibits mandatory boat inspections.