PENDLETON - The 23rd annual Happy Canyon appreciation awards ceremony will be held at 6 p.m. Wednesday at the Pendleton Convention Center.

This year, Jim Loiland and Mary Williams will be honored for their work with Happy Canyon.

The first award winners for outstanding service to the Happy Canyon Pageant, in 1982, were Clarence Burke, Bill Minthorn, Bud Wishart, Ted Johnson and Tom Simonton. While volunteers are honored, the awards can not be given to members of the Happy Canyon Board of Directors.

"These awards were created to recognize a few of the many volunteers that work tirelessly, devoting their valuable time to the Happy Canyon Night Show," said Jim Naughton, publicity director for the pageant. "There are so many people to honor, and we're proud to be celebrating a few more of our long-time volunteers this Wednesday night."

The Pendleton Round-Up and Happy Canyon is held the second full week of September in Pendleton. The Round-Up began in 1910. The Happy Canyon Night Show began a few years later as a colorful display of Indian pageantry and tradition.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.