Hermiston School District recognized some of its best and brightest Monday night with the annual Educator of the Year awards.

The district also honored Sunset Elementary School principal Devin Grigg as Administrator of the Year.

Grigg has been in education for 21 years, including 11 years with Hermiston School District, and has served as principal at Sunset for the past seven. Superintendent Dr. Fred Maiocco said Grigg puts student learning ahead of everything he does and is quick to study out a solution when he sees a need. Through his participation in the Hermiston Lion’s Club he has also become the district’s point person when a student needs help obtaining glasses or a vision screening.

“He is a tremendous educator,” Maiocco said.

Educator of the Year recipients honored at Monday night’s school board meeting were nominated by their coworkers. Maiocco said he hoped the teachers hung up the award in their classrooms, where students and their parents would see it.

“It is important that we let them know you are an example,” he said.

Recipients were Melody Bustillos, Mary Robinson, Lisa McElroy, Ashlie Stanley, Robbie Storagee, Stacy Shaefer, Jessica Campbell, Deanna Plum, Dia Bernabe and Arta Jones.

The educators will also be presented to the community at the Hermiston Chamber of Commerce’s Distinguished Citizens Awards banquet on Feb. 3. The district will then select one recipient to be nominated for Oregon Teacher of the Year.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.