Umatilla’s Flores wins Crystal Apple award posthumously

Elisabet Flores

PENDLETON – The InterMountain Education Service District announced Friday the winners of the 16th annual Crystal Apple “Excellence in Education” Awards, including a Umatilla teacher who died in an April car crash.

Elisabet Flores is one of 30 teachers from Umatilla and Morrow counties picked for the award. Flores, a first grade teacher at McNary Heights, died after an April 11 single-vehicle crash outside Hermiston.

Each year, the IMESD collects nominations over a two-month period from administrators, coworkers, parents, students and community members. Winners are selected from these nominations by school district administration.

The Department of Human Services, District 12 was named the winner of the 2015 Community Partner Award. According to a press release from the IMESD, the district has been an important part of the Blue Mountain Early Learning Hub and the Wraparound Program.

“They have helped us identify goals that have led to the direct reduction of incidents of neglect and trauma for families in our communities,” IMESD superintendent Mark Mulvihill said in the release. “Director Ivonne Lopez has been a key leader in this effort.”

Mid Columbia Bus Company also will reveal the winner of the Doug Flatt Memorial Leadership Award. The IMESD will honor the Umatilla and Morrow county winners at a ceremony at the Red Lion Hotel Ballroom on Wednesday, May 20 at 4:30 p.m

Athena-Weston School District: Elizabeth McIntyre; Paula Reich.

Echo School District: Mike Heriza; Pam Reese.

Helix School District: Monica Curtiss; Patti Sederburg.

Hermiston School District: Michele Bergstrom; Debara Cleaver; Lisa McElroy; Kristi Smalley.

Ione School District: John Bristow; Brandi Orem.

Milton-Freewater Unified School District: Ralph Brown; Kori Frick-Harvey; Michael Shelton.

Morrow County School District: Claude Birt; Rhonda Boor; Becky Evans; Nancy McElhany.

Pendleton School District: Mark Christensen; Kayla Frazier; Beth Hepler.

Pilot Rock School District: Brenda Bensel; Lori Roach.

Stanfield School District: Heather Monkus; Don Walker.

Ukiah School District: Annie Reid.

Umatilla School District: Elisabet Flores; Lisa Keller; Jerry McMichael.

InterMountain ESD: Mandi Parsons; Wendy Simer; Lon Thornburg; Jenny Zitterkopf.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.