BEND — Hermiston’s Joey Burns and Ryan Parsons backed up their second seed to become the only doubles team from the Columbia River Conference to make the state tournament this season.

Burns and Parsons overcame a tough Bend team in their first match at the Special District 1 boys’ tennis tournament on Monday in Bend.

The Bend squad could have been seeded, according to Hermiston coach Casey Arstein, and pushed Burns and Parsons in a three-set match the Bulldog duo took 6-4, 4-6, 6-1.

The team crushed a Summit team 6-0, 6-0 in the quarterfinals to set up a match with Summit’s third-seeded Hall brothers in the semifinals.

Their quarterfinal win was their first shutout of the season.

“A little bit of pressure is off but they want a district title just like everyone else,”?Arstein said.

Both players will make their second state appearance. Burns went as a singles player last year while Parsons went in doubles. Arstein said the Hall team may be the better tennis players but Burns and Parsons are definitely more athletic.

Arstein had also hoped his No. 5-seeded doubles team of Matt Ternes and Connor McMichael could advance to state but they fell in the quarterfinals to a No. 4 seed from Summit.

“I was hoping they would pull the upset but today just wasn’t their day,” Arstein said of a 6-1, 6-3 loss. “That Summit team just had too much experience.”

Kevin Hawman and Robert Millard won in their first match but lost a close one 6-4, 7-5 in the quarterfinals. Vincent Whitesell and Peter Tachiqan are alive in the consolation semifinals after rebounding from a three-set loss in the opening round to win two consolation bracket matches.

It was a disappointing day for Hermiston’s singles players as Dain Lloyd lost to Hood River Valley’s Josh Ziegner 3-6, 6-4, 6-3 in the second round.

“It was a tough match,” Arstein said. “I thought Dain was the better player but he didn’t play as well as he is capable of.”

Matt Booher and Reid Worstell also bowed out in the second round.

Pendleton did not advance any players to the semifinals and coach Chris Holdman could not be reached for comment.

The only other CRC?state qualifier is The Dalles Wahtonka’s Kaito Nakamura.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.