HERMISTON - The Hermiston Linebacker Club hosted an awards dinner for members of the 2002 Bulldog football program and announced that the players named quarterback John Barnett as the MVP.

Barnett led Hermiston to their first outright Intermountain Conference title, the program's first undefeated regular season and on to the state 4A quarterfinals.

The team also voted to name senior James Williams as the Best Skill player and Jared Mack as the Most Inspirational. Tyler Hartsteen was named Best Lineman by the team.

Head coach Jerry Williams presented Mark Maze with the Coaches Award and announced that Tyler Murray and Ryan Gilleese shared the coach's Most Improved award.

Dawg awards were tallied throughout the season by coaches reviewing film each week for special plays that contributed to the historic season. James Williams earned the most, followed by Hartsteen and Marcus Maddox.

Linebacker Club organizers presented coach Williams with a glass football commemorating the season.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.