CBC releases all-league teams

Staff photo by Kathy Aney Coby Dougherty, of Heppner, gains yardage during a 2017 game against Stanfield. Dougherty was voted as a first team running back and linebacker in the Columbia Basin Conference's all-league selections released on Thursday.

The Class 2A Columbia Basin Conference released its 2017 all-league football teams on Thursday morning, and the league-champion Heppner Mustangs and Stanfield Tigers were at the top with 18 spots on the three teams.

Heppner, the 2017 CBC champion, has 11 players selected filling up 18 spots including nine first team spots. Four of those Mustangs earned first team selections on both sides of the ball, including senior lineman Wyatt Steagall, junior lineman Tyler Carter, senior running back and linebacker Coby Dougherty and senior receiver and defensive back Beau Wolters.

Filling out the rest of Heppner’s selections are sophomore Jason Rea (second team LB, second team OL), sophomore Gavin Hanna-Robinson (1st team LB, 2nd team WR), freshman Jayden Wilson (second team QB, second team DB), junior Dakota Howard (second team OL) senior Kevin Smith (honorable mention DB), junior Derek Howard (honorable mention DL) and junior Logan Burright (honorable mention punter).

The Stanfield Tigers, who finished in second place in the league, had 12 players selected in 18 spots. Seniors Adrian Renner and Justin Keeney were both first team picks at running back and defensive back, while sophomore Mario Sanchez was a first team selection on the offensive and defensive lines.

The remaining Stanfield selections are senior Makiah Blankenship (second team LB, second team RB), sophomore Mason Smith (second team WR, second team LB), senior Shayne Keltz (second team DL), sophomore Rene Sanchez (second team OL), junior Hunter McCanch (second team punter), sophomore Uriel Carillo (second team kicker), senior Kenny Bevan (honorable mention OL, DL), Michael Connell (honorable mention OL) and Cody Griffin (honorable mention DB).

And Weston-McEwen placed 10 players in 14 spots, led by senior Brett Speed at first team quarterback and first team linebacker. Behind Speed were senior Parker Munck (first team DB, second team WR), junior Patton Wright (first team DL, second team OL), junior Weston Phillips (first team OL, second team DL), junior Dylan Cain (second team RB), senior Jacob Speed (second team DB), junior Will Muilenburg (honorable mention OL), sophomore Kelen McGill (honorable mention WR), senior Logan Bates (honorable mention DL), and freshman LeBraun Albert (honorable mention DB).

The full teams are listed below.


Columbia Basin Conference

All-League Selections


Quarterback — Brett Speed, Weston-McEwen, sr.

Running Back — Adrian Renner, Stanfield, sr.; Justin Keeney, Stanfield, sr.; Coby Dougherty, Heppner, sr.; Victor Torres, Culver, jr.

Wide Receivers — Beau Wolters, Heppner, sr.; Weston Basl, Culver, sr.; Joe Russo, Culver, sr.

Offensive Line — Mario Sanchez, Stanfield, so.; Tyler Carter, Heppner, jr.; Wyatt Steagall, Heppner, sr.; Cole Little, Culver, sr; Weston Phillips, Weston-McEwen, jr.

Defensive Line — Cole Little, Culver, sr.; Mario Sanchez, Stanfield, so.; Wyatt Steagall, Heppner, sr.; Tyler Carter, Heppner, jr.; Patton Wright, Weston-McEwen, jr.

Linebackers — Gavin Hanna-Robinson, Heppner, so.; Coby Dougherty, Heppner, sr.; Brett Speed, Weston-McEwen, sr.; Joe Russo, Culver, jr.

Defensive Back — Adrian Renner, Stanfield, sr.; Justin Keeney, Stanfield, sr.; Beau Wolters, Heppner, sr.; Weston Basl, Culver, sr.; Parker Munck, Weston-McEwen, sr.

Punter — Jorge Olivera, Culver, sr.

Kicker — Jorge Olivera, Culver, sr.


Quarterback — Jayden Wilson, Heppner, fr.

Running Back — Dylan Cain, Weston-McEwen, jr.; Makiah Blankenship, Stanfield, sr.

Wide Receiver — Gavin Hanna-Robinson, Heppner, so.; Mason Smith, Stanfield, so.; Parker Munck, Weston-McEwen, sr.

Offensive Line — Jason Rea, Heppner, so.; Dakota Howard, Heppner, jr.; Jerron Rhen, Culver, sr.; Patton Wright, Weston-McEwen, jr.; Rene Sanchez, Stanfield, so.

Defensive Line — Jerron Rhen, Culver, sr.; Weston Phillips, Weston-McEwen, jr.; Shayne Keltz, Stanfield, sr.

Linebacker — Makiah Blankenship, Stanfield, sr.; Jason Rea, Heppner, so.; Garrett Shell, Weston-McEwen, sr.; Mason Smith, Stanfield, so.

Defensive Back — Jacob Speed, Weston-McEwen, sr.; Jorge Olivera, Culver, sr.; Jayden Wilson, Heppner, fr.

Punter — Hunter McCanch, Stanfield, jr.

Kicker — Uriel Carillo, Stanfield, so.


Quarterback — Jorge Olivera, Culver, sr.

Wide Receiver — Kelen McGill, Weston-McEwen, so.

Offensive Line — Will Muilenburg, Weston-McEwen, jr.; Kenny Bevan, Stanfield, sr.; Michael Connell, Stanfield, so.; Jonathan Figueroa, Culver, sr.

Defensive Line — Derek Howard, Heppner, jr.; Kenny Bevan, Stanfield, sr.; Logan Bates, Weston-McEwen, sr.

Defensive Back — Kevin Smith, Heppner, sr.; LeBraun Albert, Weston-McEwen, fr.; Cody Griffin, Stanfield, jr.

Punter — Logan Burright, Heppner, jr.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.