No headline.

PENDLETON — The Blue Mountain Community College women’s rodeo team repeated as national champions on Saturday at the College National Finals Rodeo in Casper, Wyo.

Sophomore Danyelle Williams won the final round of barrel racing to cement her women’s all-around title. Her 340 total points was nearly double that of second-place Taylor Engesser of Gillette College.

The BMCC women finished with 595 total points and Missouri Valley College was second with 420.

The BMCC men finished in 29th with 150 points. Feather River College won the men’s team title with an even 1,000.

Williams’ time of 13.79 in Saturday’s barrel racing short-go was the fastest time of the week, but Black Hills’ Kristi Steffes turned in the second-fasted time with a 13.85 to hold on for the aggregate title. Steffes finished with 56.09 on four and Williams was second with 56.24.

Blue Mountain’s Jessica Lewis, who won the first round in the barrels, finished fourth in the aggregate with 56.84 on four. She placed seventh in the short-go with 14.18.

Also scoring points for the women on Saturday was Lauren Leyva with an eighth-place time of 7.0 in the goat tying short-go. She ended up in a tie for third in the aggregate with 26.6 on four.

The only BMCC cowboy to reach the short-go was steer wrestler JT Garland, and he placed third in the round (6.2) and fifth in the aggregate (29.2 on four).



Bareback — Wyatt Denny, Feather River College, 311.5 points

Tie-Down Roping — Marcus Theriot, East Mississippi Community College 38.1 seconds

Breakaway Roping — Kirbie Crouse, Missouri Valley College, 10.9 seconds

Saddle Bronc Riding — Wyatt Casper, Clarendon College, 290 points

Steer Wrestling — J.D. Struxness, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, 18.1 seconds

Goat Tying — Shelby Winchell, Chadron State College, 25.0 seconds

Team Roping — (header) Cole Wheeler, Weatherford College &

Wesley Thorp, Ranger College, 24.4 seconds

Barrel Racing — Kristi Steffes, Black Hills State University, 56.09

Bull Riding — Cody Hudson, Walla Walla Community College, 159.5 points

Men’s All-Around — Marcus Theriot, East Mississippi Community College, 510 points

Women’s All-Around — Danyelle Williams, Blue Mountain Community College, 340 points

Men’s Team — Feather River College, 1000 points

Women’s Team — Blue Mountain Community College, 595 points

Men’s Rookie — Marcus Theriot, East Mississippi Community College, 510 points

Women’s Rookie — Brittany Dias, California State University – Fresno, 185 points

Sign up for our Daily Headlines newsletter

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.