Riverside’s Castillo named district’s top player

Staff photo by E.J. Harris Riverside's Quincy Castillo (10) charges through De La Salle defenders Diego Siquina-Tomas (16) and Gabriel Moreno in the Pirate's 4-0 win against the Knights on Tuesday in Boardman.

The Riverside boys soccer team was arguably the most dominant team in the entire state in 2017, breezing through its schedule and the Class 3A/2A/1A state playoffs to capture the schools’ second state championship.

The Pirates were the highest-scoring team across all classifications with 116 goals and allowed a mere 16. In district play, Riverside was a perfect 6-0, winning those games by a combined score of 62-4.

The season officially came to a close this week with the all-district teams being released, with Riverside showing why they were far and away the best team in Special District 4 this season. The Pirates had nine total players voted into the two teams, with seven first team selections and one second team. And for the cherry on top, senior Quincy Castillo was named district Player of the Year and head coach Francisco Velazquez as Coach of the Year.

Umatilla, who finished tied for second in the district, had six selections led by sophomores Jose Alaniz and Roberto Lugo on the first team. Irrigon had just three selections following an 0-14 season.

The full teams are listed below.


Special District 4

Player of the Year — Quincy Castillo, Riverside

Coach of the Year — Francisco Velasquez, Riverside

First Team

Kevin Madrigal, Riverside, sr.; Jose Peralta, Riverside, sr.; Kevin Sanchez, Nyssa, sr.; Luis Olvera, Riverside, sr.; Jose Alaniz, Umatilla, so.; Alejandor Alvaez, Irrigon, sr.; Cristoval Alvarez, Nyssa, jr.; Miseal Madrigal, Riverside, sr.; Ulises Lopez, Riverside, so.; Kevin Altamirano, Riverside, sr.; Roberto Lugo, Umatilla, so.

Second Team

Roberto Amezquita, Nyssa, jr.; Abram Castro, Nyssa, so.; Omar Tellez, Nyssa, jr.; Javier Castro, Nyssa, fr.; Luis Castro, Umatilla, jr.; Cesar De la Cruz, Umatilla, so.; Pedro Arroyo, Umatilla, jr.; Armondo Verdin, Umatilla, sr.; Marcos Rangle, Irrigon, so.; Luis Cardenas, Irrigon, jr.; Kevin Ruelas, Riverside, so.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.